Vocational Education and Training

Train for a job in Australia on the Vocational Education and Training Sector Student Visa (Subclass 572). This visa allows you to enrol in a full-time course of study in Australia for the following programs:

  • A I, II, III and IV certificate (except ELICOS);
  • A diploma;
  • An advanced diploma;
  • A vocational graduate certificate; or
  • A vocational graduate diploma.

To obtain a Vocational Education and Training Student Visa, follow these simple steps:

  1. Determine your Assessment Level.
  2. Get accepted into a certified program.
  3. Apply for a visa.

Assessment Level

To determine your Assessment Level, match the country of your passport with the education sector you plan to study in, in this case it would be the Vocational Education and Training Sector.

Assessment Levels are determined through an examination of a particular group’s actions during their stay in Australia on a student visa. How the group complies with visa regulations, adheres to the law and customs of Australia and conducts themselves in the course of study are examined, then a risk factor, or Assessment Level is given to the group. The “group” is the citizens of a particular country.

There are five Assessment Levels. Level 1 is the lowest risk and Level 5 is the highest risk. The higher the risk you are, the more evidence you will need to provide that proves you are suitable for a visa.


CRICOS stands for Commonwealth Register of Courses for Overseas Students. It is the regulatory body that certifies educational programs eligible for international students. You must be accepted into a CRICOS program before you can apply for a student visa.


Australia’s Vocational Education and Training (VET) institutions are many. They are study programs that train you in specific fields and prepare you for employment in those fields. VET programs focus on practical, hands on experience to truly teach you the skills of a trade.

VET programs are provided by public Technical and Further Education (TAFE) Institutes, private colleges and a number of schools and universities. The following are the qualifications available for VET programs in Australia:

  • Certificate I
    • Length of Course: 4-6 months
    • Career path: Competent Operator
  • Certificate II
    • Length of Course: 6-8 months
    • Career Path: Advanced Operator
  • Certificate III
    • Length of Course: 1 year
    • Career Path: Qualified Tradesperson or Technician
  • Certificate IV
    • Length of Course: 12-18 months
    • Career Path: Supervisor
  • Diploma
    • Length of Course: 18-24 months
    • Career Path: Para-professional
  • Advanced Diploma
    • Length of Course: 24-36 months
    • Career Path: Junior Manager